Parliament Website

Human Rights In Turkey

EDM number 546 in 2017-19, proposed by David Lammy on 15/11/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Human rights and Middle East.

That this House is extremely concerned about the ongoing crackdown on civil society and essential freedoms, specifically on human rights defenders, in Turkey, including the recent arrests of Amnesty International Turkey Chair, Taner Kilic, and Amnesty International Turkey Director, ldil Eser, along with nine other human rights defenders, also known as the Istanbul 10; fears that these arrests are politically motivated actions aimed at silencing the work of some of Turkey's most prominent human rights defenders given that the indictment fails to provide evidence to substantiate the charges it contains; notes that the 11 activists are accused of membership of a variety of armed terrorist organisations which carries a jail term of up to 15 years; further notes that these arrests are occurring within a context of a crackdown on human rights by the Turkish Government since the failed coup attempt in July 2016, which has seen thousands of detentions, arrests, the dismissal of journalists and shutting down of media outlets; and calls for the immediate and unconditional release of Taner Kilic from pre-trial detention as well all charges to be dropped against ldil Eser, Taner Kilic and all human rights defenders imprisoned in Turkey in connection with their work.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

David Lammy15/11/2017TottenhamLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley15/11/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Tom Brake15/11/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen McCabe15/11/2017Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Catherine West15/11/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens15/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas15/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Clive Lewis15/11/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Helen Hayes15/11/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter15/11/2017HammersmithLabourSigned
Joan Ryan15/11/2017Signed
Carol Monaghan15/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins15/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns15/11/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi15/11/2017GowerLabourSigned
Jo Swinson16/11/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron16/11/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon16/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Dennis Skinner16/11/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney16/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Hilary Benn16/11/2017Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Jim Shannon16/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle20/11/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Wes Streeting20/11/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hill20/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day21/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/11/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Law21/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron21/11/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer21/11/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens21/11/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Thelma Walker22/11/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Eleanor Smith22/11/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Dan Carden23/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris23/11/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
David Linden27/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon27/11/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
John Spellar05/12/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Harriet Harman20/12/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.