Parliament Website

Offshore Helicopter Safety

EDM number 553 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 16/11/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Aviation.

That this House is concerned by the safety of offshore helicopter transport; observes that since February 2009, 33 offshore workers and crew have died and 65 have been rescued from the North Sea following six accidents involving Super Puma 225 and AS332 L2 helicopters; remembers the 13 passengers and crew who lost their lives on 29 April 2016 in a crash off the south coast of Norway; notes that Norwegian and UK investigations of fatal and non-fatal Super Puma accidents since 2009 have found similar mechanical failures; supports the continued grounding of the Super Puma fleet across the North Sea; further notes that the manufacturer Airbus surveyed offshore workers in June 2017 and found a majority with profound reservations over flying in Super Pumas again; is further concerned that the Civil Aviation Authority lifted official restrictions on these helicopters in July 2017 without consulting offshore workers or their trade unions; believes that Super Pumas should not return to the North Sea without the prior agreement of a majority of offshore workers; is concerned that the Government rejected the Transport Select Committee's July 2014 recommendation for a public inquiry into commercial pressures on offshore helicopter safety; recognises that 2018 is the 30th anniversary of the Piper Alpha disaster and a reminder of the necessity for the highest possible standards of offshore safety; and supports the RMT union's call for the Government to launch a public inquiry into the offshore helicopter safety concerns that are being raised by offshore workers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Ian Mearns16/11/2017GatesheadLabourProposed
Alex Cunningham16/11/2017Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Alistair Carmichael16/11/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Stephens16/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Grahame Morris16/11/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kate Hoey16/11/2017VauxhallLabourSeconded
Laura Pidcock16/11/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner16/11/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Dan Carden16/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson20/11/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Lady Hermon20/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill20/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan21/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham21/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law21/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson21/11/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day21/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer21/11/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon21/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
David Crausby23/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Linden27/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn27/11/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Mary Glindon27/11/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Jo Stevens11/12/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson25/01/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas01/05/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.