Parliament Website

The UN Climate Change Conference Of The Parties 23

EDM number 562 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 20/11/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Climate change.

That this House notes that 2017 looks set to be one of the hottest years on record and that 15 of the 16 warmest years have occurred in the 21st century; welcomes the clear message from the UN Climate Change Conference of the Parties 23 (COP23) climate negotiations that there is no turning back and that there will be no renegotiation of the Paris Agreement; further welcomes the progress made on how compliance with emission reduction targets will be monitored and reported transparently; welcomes the unilateral action of 14 US states to uphold the Paris Agreement and the global momentum for the transition to clean energy; regrets nonetheless there was insufficient urgency from COP23 on delivering action to keep global warming below 1.5 degrees Celsius or on how to move forward on loss and damage caused by climate breakdown; welcomes the UK's leadership in establishing a new alliance of 19 nations pledging to phase out coal; calls for a consistent approach to leaving fossil fuels in the ground and for the Government to therefore withdraw its support for fracking, a whole new dirty fossil fuel industry that's incompatible with the UK's climate change targets; further calls on the Government to urgently show global climate leadership by setting new ambitious targets for domestic carbon dioxide reductions, and increasing ambition for renewable deployment beyond 2020, compatible with the 1.5 degrees Celsius threshold.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Caroline Lucas20/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Martyn Day21/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Daniel Zeichner21/11/2017CambridgeLabourSeconded
Clive Lewis21/11/2017Norwich SouthLabourSeconded
Wera Hobhouse21/11/2017BathLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McNally21/11/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts21/11/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens21/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell22/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins27/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff28/11/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham28/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Linden28/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon29/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Chris Law29/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan29/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/12/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman04/12/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman06/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell11/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran11/12/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper30/04/2018West LancashireLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.