Parliament Website

EU Protocol On Animal Sentience

EDM number 587 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 23/11/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Animal welfare.

That this House welcomes the Written Statement of 23 November 2017 by the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs that the Government's policies on animal protection are driven by a recognition that animals are sentient beings; notes that Article 13 of the Lisbon Treaty imposes a substantial obligation on EU institutions and the Governments of member states to pay full regard to the welfare requirements of animals when formulating and implementing law and policy, since animals are sentient beings; further notes that the Secretary of State gave a commitment to the House on 20 July 2017 that Article 13 of the Lisbon Treaty would be converted into UK law by the EU (Withdrawal) Bill; and calls on the Government to act upon this commitment by tabling an appropriate amendment to the EU (Withdrawal) Bill at the earliest possible opportunity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Caroline Lucas23/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Layla Moran23/11/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts23/11/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Tim Farron23/11/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jo Swinson27/11/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martyn Day27/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Grahame Morris27/11/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens27/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally28/11/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer28/11/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff28/11/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron28/11/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham28/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Linden28/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon28/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Stephen Lloyd29/11/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon29/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Jo Stevens29/11/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Chris Law29/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan29/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty29/11/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill30/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Mary Glindon01/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan04/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty04/12/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Kirsty Blackman04/12/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/12/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard05/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse05/12/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Jared O'Mara05/12/2017Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Mhairi Black06/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle06/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Hugh Gaffney06/12/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell11/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Tonia Antoniazzi13/12/2017GowerLabourSigned
Ben Lake13/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Brake13/12/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards13/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams13/12/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Patrick Grady13/12/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss13/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Mann21/12/2017BassetlawLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Paul Farrelly02/02/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.