Parliament Website

Arrest And Trials Of Kurdish HDP Leaders In Turkey

EDM number 602 in 2017-19, proposed by Grahame Morris on 28/11/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Eastern Europe, Ethnic groups, International politics and government, Middle East and Political parties.

That this House expresses concern regarding the upcoming trials of the democratically-elected leaders of Turkey's third biggest parliamentary party, the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP); notes that a total of nine elected MPs, 88 elected mayors and over 8,000 party activists are currently in prison; further notes that the basis for the arrests are speeches delivered which, along with the mass arrest of journalists (EDM 231), encroaches on the right to free speech in Turkey; believes that the motivations behind their arrest and imprisonment on terrorism charges, months after the removal of parliamentary immunity, are political; recognises that the arrest of HDP parliamentarians is also an attack on the democratic rights of the six million plus citizens of Turkey who voted for them; commends the work being done by the HDP in attempting democratic steps towards a peaceful resolution to the Kurdish question; condemns the Turkish Government for trying to criminalise the democratic voice of millions of its citizens; calls for the immediate release of the HDP politicians; and calls on the UK Government to pressure Turkey to lift the state of emergency and restore democracy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Grahame Morris28/11/2017EasingtonLabourProposed
Chris Stephens28/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Hepburn28/11/2017JarrowLabourSeconded
Dan Carden28/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Laura Smith28/11/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSeconded
Clive Lewis28/11/2017Norwich SouthLabourSeconded
Marsha de Cordova28/11/2017BatterseaLabourSigned
Martin Docherty28/11/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley28/11/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Shannon29/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day29/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas29/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Cunningham29/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law29/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon29/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Ronnie Cowan29/11/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner29/11/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Mike Hill30/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Mary Glindon01/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Alan Brown04/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/12/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman04/12/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes11/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.