Parliament Website

Leasehold Restrictions On Freeholds

EDM number 627 in 2017-19, proposed by Mary Glindon on 01/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Housing and Owner occupation.

That this House is deeply concerned that new build houses are sold as freehold but have leasehold terms, also known as, fleecehold attached in the form of charges, including restrictive covenants on the need to apply for permission and pay a charge for any alterations and extensions, changes that fall outside the ambit of planning permissions and the sale of property; notes that this affects thousands of owners of new build houses; believes that this undermines the definition of freehold as permanent and absolute tenure of land or property with freedom to dispose of it at will; and urges the Government to investigate this practice as a matter of urgency and with a view to first clarifying the law and then outlawing this practice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Mary Glindon01/12/2017North TynesideLabourProposed
Jim Cunningham01/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Fitzpatrick04/12/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon05/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alan Brown05/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens05/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman05/12/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Edward Davey05/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Matt Western05/12/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer06/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle06/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/12/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Layla Moran11/12/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Bridgen11/12/2017North West LeicestershireConservativeSigned
Caroline Lucas11/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Adrian Bailey14/12/2017West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield15/01/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Drew Hendry30/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.