Parliament Website

RBS Closures In North Ayrshire

EDM number 639 in 2017-19, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 04/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Financial institutions and Financial services.

That this House condemns the decision of the Royal Bank of Scotland to close its branches in Kilbirnie, Saltcoats and Kilwinning; recognises that this follows the closure of the Royal Bank of Scotland branch in West Kilbride, and the closure of bank branches across North Ayrshire and Arran by Clydesdale Bank and TSB; understands that local communities, particularly elderly and disabled residents, will suffer because of this decision; notes that branch closures in Kilbirnie, Saltcoats and Kilwinning will effect adversely local businesses and town centres; is concerned by the uncertainty over the future of bank staff who may face redundancy; further understands that commitments made by RBS not to close a branch where it was the last one in a community has been abandoned; further notes that this decision was taken without consulting customers, staff or local businesses; further recognises the sense of betrayal at such closures given that the taxpayer is a majority shareholder in RBS; and urges RBS to reconsider these closures, so that North Ayrshire and Arran communities are not deprived of the opportunity to bank locally.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Patricia Gibson04/12/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
David Linden04/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald05/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon05/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Patrick Grady05/12/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Christine Jardine05/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Stephens05/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan06/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara06/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney06/12/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Martyn Day06/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law06/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson06/12/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham11/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Douglas Chapman18/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.