Parliament Website

Energy Costs

EDM number 641 in 2017-19, proposed by Drew Hendry on 04/12/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Energy conservation.

That this House notes the variations in costs of energy bills between different regions and nations of the UK, some as large as £139; notes that the network companies responsible for those variations make £6.6 billion in profits, and with profit margins of up to 40 per cent; believes that it is in the interests of consumers to end the practice of charging different prices in different regions and nations; further believes that consumers should instead pay one price for their energy no matter where they live; further notes that the cost to implement the change would be a tenth of network company profits and would see bills cut for the vast majority of consumers; and calls on the Government and Ofgem to make these changes to ensure the postcode lottery in energy is ended at no cost to the taxpayer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Drew Hendry04/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartyProposed
Brendan O'Hara04/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards04/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Stewart McDonald05/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon05/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Patrick Grady05/12/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Christine Jardine05/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John McNally05/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens05/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney06/12/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Martyn Day06/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law06/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson06/12/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Stuart McDonald07/12/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham11/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake12/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Marie Rimmer12/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson14/12/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands18/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron19/12/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman08/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.