Parliament Website

Centenary Of Finnish Independence

EDM number 656 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 06/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government and Western Europe.

That this house congratulates Finland on celebrating the 100th anniversary of its Independence Day on 6 December 2017; recognises the success that Finland has made of its independence; notes that the occasion was commemorated by the Government with a ceremonial session of the Senate of Finland which drafted the declaration of independence in 1917; further notes that the theme for this centenary year is "together", meaning that everyone including Finns and friends of Finns, is welcome to take part; appreciates projects such as The Life of Art, the Helsinki Ice Challenge and the Finland photo challenge through which this occasion has been commemorated; and encourages other states to celebrate this important occasion.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Stephen Gethins06/12/2017North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Ian Blackford06/12/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss06/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford06/12/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law06/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara06/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Pete Wishart06/12/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan06/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald06/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald06/12/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley06/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Shannon07/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens07/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John Grogan07/12/2017Signed
Bob Blackman07/12/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Martyn Day07/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards07/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tommy Sheppard11/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Edward Davey11/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson14/12/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands18/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman08/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.