Parliament Website

Hedd Wyn Commemorative Stamp

EDM number 666 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 07/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces, Arts, Cultural heritage and Postal services.

That this House disagrees with the decision of the Royal Mail not to issue a stamp commemorating the life of Hedd Wyn, Elis Humphrey Evans, the bard who lost his life during the First World War in the battle of Passchendaele in 1917; believes that a stamp of its kind is important because he is a symbol for every life lost during a brutal war which affected most families in Wales, and the UK, between 1914 and 1918; notes that, tragically, Hedd Wyn was killed before being awarded the highest possible bardic honour, the Chair, at the National Eisteddfod in Penbedw; further notes that the Republic of Ireland has published a stamp to commemorate Francis Ledwidge, the Irish poet who died the same day as Hedd Wyn, in the same battle, and who is buried near him in Artillery Wood; and calls on the Royal Mail to reconsider its decision and to publish a stamp to commemorate the life and work of Hedd Wyn as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts07/12/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Jonathan Edwards07/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams07/12/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake07/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day11/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley11/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens12/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer12/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
John McNally12/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon12/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Paul Flynn13/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara13/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham13/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.