Parliament Website

Human Rights Defenders In Colombia And The First Anniversary Of The Colombian Peace Agreement

EDM number 718 in 2017-19, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 20/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, International politics and government and Latin America.

That this House notes with concern the increased risks faced by human rights defenders and community leaders in Colombia since the signing of the peace agreement with the FARC, and in particular the recent killings of land restitution leaders, Mario Castaño Bravo and Hernán Bedoya; is deeply disturbed that according to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees 78 defenders have been killed in the first 11 months of this year; further notes the vital importance of the work of human rights defenders in Colombia, and elsewhere; and calls on the Government to strengthen its efforts, bilaterally and through the EU, to protect human rights defenders and civil society leaders in Colombia, and to support and monitor the implementation of the peace agreement between the Colombian Government and the FARC.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Ann Clwyd20/12/2017Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley20/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon21/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham21/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens21/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Catherine West08/01/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Patrick Grady08/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins08/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Linden08/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day09/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law09/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris09/01/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon09/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Martin Docherty09/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell17/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Twigg19/01/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes24/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Graham Jones25/01/2018HyndburnLabourSigned
Jo Stevens29/01/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Helen Hayes20/02/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.