Parliament Website

Mobile Phone Charges

EDM number 745 in 2017-19, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 08/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers, Service industries and Telecommunications.

That this House is deeply concerned that consumers are being poorly served by some of the largest mobile phone providers in the UK; notes that customers of some of the largest mobile phone providers are being charged extra for handsets after the costs of these have been paid off as part of their fixed deal; recognises that Citizens' Advice has found that some networks are overcharging loyal customers an average of £22 per month and up to £38 for contracts with high-spec handsets; agrees that it is completely unacceptable for unsuspecting customers to continue paying for mobile phones they have already bought; acknowledges that over 65s are particularly vulnerable to this practice with 23 per cent of over 65s on a handset-inclusive deal remaining on it for more than a year after their fixed contract expired, compared with 13 per cent of under 65s; and urges the Government to do all it can to end this sharp practice and to work to make it easier for consumers to compare prices by separating out the costs of handsets from the costs of services like data and minutes for all contracts which will mean greater transparency for consumers, allowing them to more easily see for what they are actually paying.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Patricia Gibson08/01/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Gavin Newlands08/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley08/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martin Docherty09/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon09/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day09/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards09/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
David Linden09/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham09/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law09/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan09/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon10/01/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Lady Hermon10/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
John McNally10/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss10/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald10/01/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens11/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts15/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ben Lake16/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Hannah Bardell17/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin19/01/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Ruth George19/01/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Patrick Grady22/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron20/02/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.