Parliament Website

Anti-Regime Protests In Iran

EDM number 746 in 2017-19, proposed by Bob Blackman on 08/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, International politics and government and Iran.

That this House supports the right of citizens in Iran to protest; commends the bravery of the thousands of Iranian citizens who have taken to the streets in 20 cities to protest the clerical regime of Ayatollah Ali Khamenei; notes the strong sentiments being expressed against the regime's policies in support of terrorism and destabilising activities in the region; is concerned by reports of up to 3,000 people being detained, including students, as part of an attempt to suppress anti-government protests; expresses deepest sympathies to the families of all those who have died; calls on the Iranian Government to restore the basic right of internet access to its citizens; condemns all acts of violence and suppression against the protesters carried out by the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC); further expresses serious concerns over the IRGC's role in human rights violations in Iran and support for terrorism abroad more generally; and calls on the Government to include the IRGC on the list of proscribed organisations, impose punitive measures against its officials and to work with allies to expel the IRGC from Syria, Iraq and across the entire Middle East.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Bob Blackman08/01/2018Harrow EastConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley08/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon09/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Lady Hermon09/01/2018North DownIndependentSeconded
Jim Cunningham09/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Chris Law09/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Gordon Henderson09/01/2018Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Martyn Day10/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
David Amess10/01/2018Southend WestConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon10/01/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Jonathan Lord11/01/2018WokingConservativeSigned
Marie Rimmer15/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
David Linden16/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands16/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell17/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns19/01/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick19/01/2018Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff22/01/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Sammy Wilson01/02/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Toby Perkins01/02/2018ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Graham Stringer05/02/2018Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
David Crausby07/02/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Patrick Grady20/02/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.