Parliament Website

Carrie Gracie And Pay Equality At The BBC

EDM number 751 in 2017-19, proposed by Jo Stevens on 08/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Broadcasting, Companies, Media, Pay and Sex discrimination.

That this House believes that the resignation of Carrie Gracie, the former China Editor of the BBC, highlights the anger and frustration of many women journalists at the BBC that a swifter resolution has not been reached to the scourge of unequal pay at our public service broadcaster; notes that figures published in 2017 revealed that the BBC's two male international editors have been paid, at least 50 per cent more, than its two female counterparts; further notes that of the list of those earning over £150,000, only a third were women and just 10 of the 96 were black or minority ethnic backgrounds; supports the National Union of Journalists in pursuing a collective grievance on behalf of 121 women who work across the BBC in a variety of roles and grades, on top of a number of individual cases that were already in train; calls for urgent government action so that pay equality is addressed across the media and broadcasting industries more generally and that effective sanctions are served on employers who flout equal pay legislation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs.

Jo Stevens08/01/2018Cardiff CentralLabourProposed
Clive Lewis08/01/2018Norwich SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon09/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Hugh Gaffney09/01/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Hannah Bardell09/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Docherty09/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Harriet Harman09/01/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan09/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill09/01/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Chris Law09/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Matt Rodda09/01/2018Reading EastLabourSigned
Ian Mearns09/01/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas09/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ruth Cadbury09/01/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
David Linden09/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake09/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Dennis Skinner09/01/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Martyn Day09/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon09/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/01/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards10/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alison Thewliss10/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker10/01/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon10/01/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
John McNally10/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Tulip Siddiq10/01/2018Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham11/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth11/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams11/01/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens11/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green15/01/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Edward Davey15/01/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine15/01/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Preet Kaur Gill15/01/2018Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Douglas Chapman15/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth15/01/2018KnowsleyLabourSigned
Keith Vaz15/01/2018Leicester EastLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts15/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Marie Rimmer15/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson15/01/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Gareth Snell16/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gavin Newlands16/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Bambos Charalambous17/01/2018Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara17/01/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle18/01/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Sandy Martin19/01/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Ruth George19/01/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper22/01/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi22/01/2018GowerLabourSigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer23/01/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce23/01/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes24/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald29/01/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.