Parliament Website

Mackintosh 150th Anniversary

EDM number 770 in 2017-19, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 10/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Arts and Cultural heritage.

That this House celebrates that 7 June 2018 will mark 150 years since the birth of Charles Rennie Mackintosh; appreciates that Mackintosh produced some of the most inventive and innovative art, architecture and design of the 1890s, significantly contributing in close collaboration with his wife Margaret MacDonald Mackintosh to the unique Glasgow Style of art and design; notes that Mackintosh's work has produced some of Glasgow's most iconic buildings and interiors, including the Glasgow School of Art, Queen's Cross Church, Scotland Street School, House for an Art Lover, the Willow Tea Rooms, as well as the iconic Hill House in Helensburgh and 78 Derngate in Northampton; believes that Charles Rennie Mackintosh has made an enormous contribution to architecture and design both in Glasgow and the wider world; congratulates both the Glasgow Mackintosh group and the Charles Rennie Mackintosh Society for their work in promoting Mackintosh's work and ensuring his legacy is protected; and looks forward to the programme of events to commemorate Mackintosh's creative genius and legacy in 2018.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Alison Thewliss10/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon10/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day11/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald11/01/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens11/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham11/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley15/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Carol Monaghan15/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands16/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Linden16/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell17/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon17/01/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Blackford17/01/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law17/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady17/05/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.