Parliament Website

HIV And UK Aviation

EDM number 827 in 2017-19, proposed by Patrick Grady on 18/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Aviation, Disability discrimination, Diseases, Employment and Equality.

That this House welcomes the decision by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) to allow applications for Class 1 Medical Certificates to people living with HIV, which previously prevented otherwise capable pilots from taking up employment as Commercial Airline Pilots; recognises the medical evidence that was being used to justify the outdated CAA rule was published in 2007 and that advances in HIV medicine and treatment render such evidence out of date; notes that under the Equality Act 2010, HIV is recognised as a disability and protected characteristic which should protect people living with HIV from employment discrimination; recognises that this welcome announcement brings the UK in line with a number of progressive countries worldwide who currently allow people living with HIV to become Commercial Airline Pilots, including The Netherlands, Australia, Canada and New Zealand; and urges the CAA to work closely with HIV charities and organisations during this process to ensure the rule changes effectively meet the needs of people living with HIV.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Patrick Grady18/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Ronnie Cowan19/01/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald22/01/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara23/01/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon23/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Marie Rimmer23/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSeconded
Christine Jardine23/01/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley23/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Martyn Day23/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens24/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan24/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally24/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss25/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Linden29/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law29/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran01/02/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry20/02/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.