Parliament Website

Turkish Offensive In Afrin

EDM number 872 in 2017-19, proposed by Jonathan Edwards on 30/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum, Eastern Europe, Ethnic groups, Human rights, International politics and government, Middle East and Military operations.

That this House condemns the Turkish Army's ground offensive against Syrian Kurds in Afrin; deplores the brutal attacks which have killed civilians as well as fighters from both sides and displacedĀ·an estimated 5,000 people; notes the invaluable support the Kurdish forces provided and continue to provide in the fight against ISIS; further notes that the attack on Afrin was completely unprovoked; highlights that since the offensive began Turkish President Erdogan has arrested 91 journalists, politicians and activists who have spoken out against the attacks; notes that since the Syrian war began, Afrin has become a stable place for Syrian refugees who now cannot escape this new threat; and urges the Government to add its voice to French calls for an immediate UN Security Council meeting.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Jonathan Edwards30/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruProposed
Liz Saville Roberts30/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams30/01/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake30/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Caroline Lucas30/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jim Shannon31/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens31/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham31/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Martyn Day31/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell31/01/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Christine Jardine01/02/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon01/02/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows20/02/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady20/02/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman21/03/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.