Parliament Website

International Day Against The Use Of Child Soldiers 2018

EDM number 905 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 06/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces, Children and families and Human rights.

That this House recognises International Day Against the Use of Child Soldiers on 12 February 2018; understands that fewer than 20 countries worldwide still allow their armed forces to recruit young people aged 16; further understands that the UK is the only country in Europe and the only Permanent Member of the UN Security Council to recruit 16 year olds into the armed forces; notes that the British armed forces recruit around 2,000 16 and 17-year olds each year, of whom 80 per cent join the Army; further notes that young recruits are more likely than civilians of the same age or older enlistees to drink heavily, self-harm and suffer mental health problems such as post-traumatic stress disorder; further recognises the criticisms of the UK's policy by the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child, the House of Commons Defence Committee, the Joint Committee on Human Rights, the Children's Commissioners for the four jurisdictions of the UK and the Equality and Human Rights Commission; notes the work of Child Soldiers International, both in the UK and worldwide, advocating for children to enjoy their human rights, free from military use and exploitation; and urges the Government to launch a review of the minimum armed forces enlistment age.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts06/02/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Hywel Williams06/02/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards06/02/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake06/02/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Ronnie Campbell07/02/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins07/02/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Marie Rimmer07/02/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens07/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan07/02/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas07/02/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Mary Glindon08/02/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard08/02/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham08/02/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry20/02/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle20/02/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner20/02/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Patrick Grady20/02/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney22/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Tim Farron21/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.