Parliament Website

Physical Disability Rugby League

EDM number 919 in 2017-19, proposed by Alex Sobel on 07/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Equality and Sports.

That this House welcomes the UK’s first ever Physical Disability Rugby League match between Warrington Wolves and Leeds Rhinos, which took place at Warrington's Victoria Park Asics Stadium on 4 February 2018; congratulates all those who took part, including The Last Leg's Adam Hills and Alex Brooker who went head to head playing for Warrington and Leeds respectively; notes that after a tightly fought game, Leeds Rhinos were victorious 22-10 in front of over 1,000 spectators; further notes that Physical Disability Rugby League is a modified version of the game which involves both full contact and touch tackle options, for all players who have physical disabilities; further congratulates the Warrington Wolves Foundation, Leeds Rhinos Foundation and all involved with the development of this version of the game in the UK; and hopes that more clubs will establish Physical Disability Rugby League teams to provide further opportunities for all to take part in rugby league.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Alex Sobel07/02/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeProposed
Faisal Rashid07/02/2018Warrington SouthLabourSeconded
Paul Farrelly07/02/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSeconded
John Mann07/02/2018BassetlawLabourSeconded
Debbie Abrahams07/02/2018Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourSeconded
Mary Creagh07/02/2018WakefieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon08/02/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens08/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards08/02/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Cunningham08/02/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon08/02/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle20/02/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Julian Lewis20/02/2018New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Conor McGinn20/02/2018St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Michael Penning20/02/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Marie Rimmer21/02/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney22/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Thelma Walker22/02/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Ruth George26/02/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell05/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands26/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.