Parliament Website

East Coast Mainline

EDM number 920 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 07/02/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House notes that Virgin-Stagecoach who operate East Coast mainline railway are in breach of financial covenants and will shortly be unable to continue to provide this service; further notes that this is the third time a private operator has failed to live up to its commitments on this service route; notes that in contrast previously, under public ownership, East Coast achieved record levels of passenger satisfaction; supports the RMT union's call for the jobs and conditions of rail workers affected to be fully protected and underwritten; and urges the Government immediately and permanently to take back into public ownership East Coast mainline, with the need for good customer service enshrined within its remit.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Ian Mearns07/02/2018GatesheadLabourProposed
Grahame Morris07/02/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hill07/02/2018HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner08/02/2018BolsoverLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens08/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Williamson08/02/2018Derby NorthLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth08/02/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards08/02/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Cunningham08/02/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon08/02/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/02/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Kate Hoey20/02/2018VauxhallLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle20/02/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stephen Hepburn20/02/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Christine Jardine20/02/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Martyn Day21/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer21/02/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney22/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Thelma Walker22/02/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
John Grogan26/02/2018Signed
Roger Godsiff27/02/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins05/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell05/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman07/03/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Martin Whitfield26/03/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Tim Farron21/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.