Parliament Website

HMS Queen Elizabeth And British Shipbuilding

EDM number 99 in 2017-19, proposed by Paul Sweeney on 29/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Defence equipment and procurement, Manufacturing industries and Shipping.

That this House offers its congratulations to the Aircraft Carrier Alliance on the successful commencement of the sea trials of the Royal Navy's future flagship, HMS Queen Elizabeth; notes that the two Queen Elizabeth class aircraft carriers, at 65,000 tonnes displacement and 920 feet in length, the largest and most complex naval ship ever built in the UK, represent a world-leading superlative of British industrial capability and form the culmination of a combined effort of 8,000 shipyard workers around the UK, including Govan, Scotstoun and Portsmouth, Rosyth and Appledore in Devon, Tyneside and Birkenhead; further notes the critical role of an extensive supply chain comprising hundreds of companies and 3,000 people based around the UK that provide many of the component parts and materials used to construct both aircraft carriers, including engines and steel; is committed to the continued promotion of a thriving naval and commercial shipbuilding industry in the UK; and will consider a robust National Shipbuilding Strategy that should be comprehensive and effective enough to sustain the positive industrial legacy of the Queen Elizabeth programme for British shipbuilding for decades to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Paul Sweeney29/06/2017Glasgow North EastLabourProposed
Ian Murray29/06/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSeconded
Hugh Gaffney29/06/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Martin Whitfield29/06/2017East LothianLabourSeconded
Ged Killen29/06/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Danielle Rowley29/06/2017MidlothianLabourSeconded
Angela Smith29/06/2017Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Chris Stephens03/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon03/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Cowan03/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald03/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
David Linden04/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Morgan05/07/2017Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham05/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis05/07/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Luke Pollard06/07/2017Plymouth, Sutton and DevonportLabour/Co-operativeSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/10/2017JarrowLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.