Parliament Website

European Public Prosecutor

EDM number 637 in 2009-10, proposed by Bob Spink on 18/01/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Crime and EU law and treaties.

That this House notes with concern that Article 69E, Judicial Co-operation in Criminal Matters, of the Treaty of Lisbon provides for the creation of a European Public Prosecutor's Office (EPPO), a judicial body in charge of investigating, with the power to order national police forces to initiate investigations; further notes with concern that the EPPO will have extensive powers and will not be accountable to the UK Parliament; believes that the creation of such a powerful undemocratic body would show complete disregard for the common law system in the UK; and calls on the Government to ensure that UK enforcement authorities continue to have sole jurisdiction in this country.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Bob Spink18/01/2010Castle PointIndependentProposed
Nicholas Winterton19/01/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley19/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Drew20/01/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Ann Winterton21/01/2010CongletonConservativeSeconded
Philip Davies21/01/2010ShipleyConservativeSeconded
Ann Cryer26/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
William McCrea27/01/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Edward Leigh04/02/2010GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Mark Oaten22/02/2010WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Viggers22/02/2010GosportConservativeSigned
William Cash08/03/2010StoneConservativeSigned
Michael Mates10/03/2010East HampshireConservativeSigned
Dari Taylor12/03/2010Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner22/03/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Michael Spicer23/03/2010West WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Richard Shepherd24/03/2010Aldridge-BrownhillsConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson24/03/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Mark Field24/03/2010Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeSigned
Robert Syms24/03/2010PooleConservativeSigned
Patrick Mercer29/03/2010NewarkConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff29/03/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Robert Walter30/03/2010North DorsetConservativeSigned
Brian Binley30/03/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Andrew Pelling30/03/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.