Parliament Website

Governance And Regulation Of Professional Football

EDM number 807 in 2009-10, proposed by Tony Lloyd on 04/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House recognises that professional football has become a major part of the modern way of life for millions of people; further recognises that its future has ramifications for individuals, communities and the nation; is aware that the state of the premier league and the professional game is causing concern; notes that self-regulation by the football authorities has often meant no regulation; further notes the widespread concern of club supporters, football journalists and financial commentators amongst others that the controlling interests in the clubs do not obviously demonstrate long-term commitment to the clubs involved and to the health of football in general; shares the concern of these groups about the level of debt and financial uncertainty which now affects certain clubs in all divisions; is further aware of the growing trend for public demonstration of unhappiness about these trends at clubs like Liverpool, Portsmouth and the recent Green and Gold campaign at Manchester United; believes the time has come for football fans to be given a tangible stake in the clubs they have helped build and still support; and calls on the Government and the football authorities to create a binding framework which will regulate club debt and those people who are involved in football, guarantee the protection of the consumer with rules for fair trading and protect the wider public interest by putting the supporter at the heart of the national game.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Tony Lloyd04/02/2010Manchester CentralLabourProposed
Derek Twigg04/02/2010HaltonLabourSeconded
George Howarth04/02/2010Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSeconded
Bob Russell04/02/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Kilfoyle04/02/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
David Wright04/02/2010TelfordLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock08/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton09/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Rudi Vis09/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley09/02/2010City of YorkLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff09/02/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
David Drew09/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale09/02/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Lynne Jones09/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell10/02/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Stephen Williams10/02/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt10/02/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
John Austin10/02/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara10/02/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner10/02/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Don Foster22/02/2010BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard22/02/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Clelland23/02/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Janet Anderson23/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
David Hamilton24/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Natascha Engel24/02/2010North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
John Leech02/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan03/03/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
David Anderson08/03/2010BlaydonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.