Parliament Website

Western Sahara

EDM number 608 in 1997-98, proposed by Tess Kingham on 17/12/1997.

That this House welcomes the Security Council Resolution adopted on 20th October which re-establishes United Nations plans for the holding of a free and fair referendum of self-determination of the people of Western Sahara; welcomes the renewed vigour that the new United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan has brought to attemps to resolve the long running conflict between the POLISARIO Front and the Moroccan Government; congratulates the work of James Baker, the former US Secretary of State, and his work as the Secretary General's Special Envoy on Western Sahara; notes that the Government assisted James Baker's facilitation of direct talks which led to the signing of agreement; and calls upon the Government to continue their support for the United Nations plans and provide resources and a physical presence of troops and civilian observers to MINURSO, the United Nations force tasked with monitoring the implementation of the peace plan.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Tess Kingham17/12/1997GloucesterLabourProposed
John Austin17/12/1997Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSeconded
Iain Coleman17/12/1997Hammersmith & FulhamLabourSeconded
Karen Buck17/12/1997Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Lloyd17/12/1997FarehamConservativeSeconded
Nigel Jones17/12/1997CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bill Michie17/12/1997Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
John Cryer17/12/1997HornchurchLabourSigned
Ernie Ross18/12/1997Dundee WestLabourSigned
Lynne Jones18/12/1997Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Chaytor18/12/1997Bury NorthLabourSigned
Michael Colvin18/12/1997RomseyConservativeSigned
Harry Barnes18/12/1997North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Taylor18/12/1997North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Cryer22/12/1997KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/12/1997Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake22/12/1997Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings12/01/1998EasingtonLabourSigned
David Heath13/01/1998Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Brand13/01/1998Isle of WightLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Chisholm13/01/1998Edinburgh North & LeithLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick13/01/1998Poplar & Canning TownLabourSigned
Norman Godman13/01/1998Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Mike Hancock14/01/1998Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn14/01/1998Newport WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/01/1998Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Love14/01/1998EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ken Livingstone14/01/1998Brent EastLabourSigned
Tom Cox14/01/1998TootingLabourSigned
Alice Mahon15/01/1998HalifaxLabourSigned
Tam Dalyell16/01/1998LinlithgowLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd19/01/1998Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen20/01/1998Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Huw Edwards20/01/1998MonmouthLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley20/01/1998York, City ofLabourSigned
Desmond Turner20/01/1998Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/01/1998Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
John McAllion27/01/1998Dundee EastLabourSigned
Harold Best27/01/1998Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe27/01/1998Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Julia Drown27/01/1998South SwindonLabourSigned
Chris Mullin27/01/1998Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell27/01/1998Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders27/01/1998TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Audrey Wise02/02/1998PrestonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/02/1998Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Martyn Jones09/02/1998Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Alan Whitehead17/02/1998Southampton, TestLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton18/03/1998Leeds North EastLabourSigned
David Lepper12/05/1998Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.