Parliament Website

Doctor-Patient Partnership Campaign On Sick Notes

EDM number 214 in 1999-00, proposed by Doug Naysmith on 16/12/1999.

That this House notes that the results of a nationwide survey demonstrated that one third of respondents thought that doctors' sick notes are needed after just three days of absence from work rather than the seven days required under the statutory sick pay legislation; believes that it is a very poor use of general practitioners' time for them to be writing sick notes after only three days off work when the condition may often be one that will get better of its own accord without medical help; congratulates the Doctor Patient Partnership for its campaign, in collaboration with the Department of Social Security, the Confederation of British Industry. the Federation of Small Businesses and the Forum of Private Business, which reminds employers and employees that sickness certificates from GPs are not necessary for absences from work of less than seven days; and calls on employers to help protect GPs' valuable time by not requesting their staff to visit their GP purely to obtain a sick note for absences of less than seven days.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Doug Naysmith16/12/1999Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeProposed
Phyllis Starkey16/12/1999Milton Keynes South WestLabourSigned
Desmond Swayne16/12/1999New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Laura Moffatt16/12/1999CrawleyLabourSigned
Evan Harris16/12/1999Oxford West & AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon16/12/1999Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/12/1999Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe20/12/1999LeighLabourSigned
Eric Clarke21/12/1999MidlothianLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley21/12/1999Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Harry Barnes21/12/1999North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Norman Godman21/12/1999Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Ian Gibson21/12/1999Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George21/12/1999St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Michie21/12/1999Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara21/12/1999Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Alice Mahon21/12/1999HalifaxLabourSigned
Terry Lewis21/12/1999WorsleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey21/12/1999North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell21/12/1999ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Love10/01/2000EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Vincent Cable10/01/2000TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer10/01/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/01/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson11/01/2000Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Russell Brown11/01/2000DumfriesLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/01/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley12/01/2000Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/01/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Michael Clapham12/01/2000Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge12/01/2000Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell13/01/2000Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams13/01/2000ConwyLabourSigned
Roy Beggs13/01/2000East AntrimUUPSigned
David Drew13/01/2000StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew Dismore13/01/2000HendonLabourSigned
David Crausby13/01/2000Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Peter Brand13/01/2000Isle of WightLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones17/01/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake18/01/2000Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis19/01/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington24/01/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Gunnell25/01/2000Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Alan Meale27/01/2000MansfieldLabourSigned
Irene Adams27/01/2000Paisley NorthLabourSigned
Phil Sawford09/02/2000KetteringLabourSigned
Oona King10/02/2000Bethnal Green & BowLabourSigned
Tony McWalter15/03/2000Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.