Parliament Website

Select Committee On Stem Cell Research

EDM number 579 in 2001-02, proposed by Ann Winterton on 13/12/2001.

That this House notes the failure of the House of Lords Select Committee on Stem Cell Research to call legal experts to give oral evidence upon the legality of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology (Research Purposes) Regulations 2001 and their wider impact upon the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 1990; notes the failure of the Select Committee to call scientists who are opposed to human embryonic stem cell research or who have practical scientific experience of adult stem cells to submit oral evidence in their own right; notes the failure of the Select Committee to call government ministers to submit oral evidence on the regulations, particularly on the deficiencies of such regulations with regard to the authorisation of experimental embryo cloning; regrets the failure of the Select Committee to deal adequately with the scientific and legal aspects of stem cell research; and notes that these failures will seriously undermine the legitimacy of the findings and recommendations of the Select Committee.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Kerry Pollard13/12/2001St AlbansLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith13/12/2001Morecambe & LunesdaleLabourSigned
Martin Smyth13/12/2001Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Lindsay Hoyle13/12/2001ChorleyLabourSigned
David Crausby13/12/2001Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham13/12/2001WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin13/12/2001Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Joe Benton13/12/2001BootleLabourSigned
Ann Winterton13/12/2001CongletonConservativeSigned
David Taylor17/12/2001North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Drew18/12/2001StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Roy Beggs18/12/2001East AntrimUUPSigned
Mike Hancock18/12/2001Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham18/12/2001Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara18/12/2001Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/12/2001Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tony Colman08/01/2002PutneyLabourSigned
George Galloway08/01/2002Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Paul Marsden09/01/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Burns10/01/2002West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson25/01/2002StrangfordDUPSigned
Ann Widdecombe04/02/2002Maidstone & The WealdConservativeSigned
John Grogan13/02/2002SelbyLabourSigned
Teddy Taylor25/02/2002Rochford & Southend EastConservativeSigned
Andrew Hunter16/05/2002BasingstokeConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.