Parliament Website

Afghan Women (No. 2)

EDM number 650 in 2001-02, proposed by Joan Ruddock on 14/01/2002.

That this House congratulates Afghanistan's interim administration on taking office and wishes them every success in bringing peace and stability to their country; welcomes the appointment of Dr Sima Samar as Vice Chair of the Administration and Minister for Women an Dr Suhaila Seddiqi as Public Health Minister; supports the proclamation made at the Afghan Women's Summit in Brussels (4th to 6th December 2001) which called for the right for women to vote and to be entitled to equal pay and equal access to health care, education and employment; an emergency plan for reopening schools by March 2002 for both girls and boys, a new curriculum, and training of teachers; the inclusion of Afghan women lawyers in the development of a new constitution which would include the principals of non-discrimination; the rebuilding of hospitals and provision of vital medicines, treatments and services, including psychological counselling; inclusion of women in the Loya Jirga and the protection of women from forced and underage marriages and sexual harassment; and calls upon the Government to ensure that all funds allocated by the international community for the reconstruction of Afghanistan are conditional on the participation by women in decision-making over the granting of the funds, the inclusion of women's non-governmental organisations among recipients of the funds and the use of the funds for implementation of the priorities outlined in the Brussels Proclamation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 62 MPs.

Joan Ruddock14/01/2002Lewisham, DeptfordLabourProposed
Angela Watkinson14/01/2002UpminsterConservativeSeconded
Fiona Mactaggart14/01/2002SloughLabourSeconded
Jenny Tonge14/01/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Julie Morgan14/01/2002Cardiff NorthLabourSeconded
Valerie Davey14/01/2002Bristol WestLabourSeconded
Chris McCafferty14/01/2002Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Frank Doran14/01/2002Aberdeen CentralLabourSigned
Martin Caton15/01/2002GowerLabourSigned
Roy Beggs15/01/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Mike Hancock15/01/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Drown15/01/2002South SwindonLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael15/01/2002Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke15/01/2002Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz15/01/2002Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lynne Jones15/01/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Holmes15/01/2002ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell15/01/2002ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus Robertson16/01/2002MorayScottish National PartySigned
Ernie Ross16/01/2002Dundee WestLabourSigned
Lady Hermon16/01/2002North DownUUPSigned
Laura Moffatt16/01/2002CrawleyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable16/01/2002TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/01/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean16/01/2002BurtonLabourSigned
John Barrett17/01/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner17/01/2002Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Anne Begg17/01/2002Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Win Griffiths17/01/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Ann McKechin17/01/2002Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Huw Edwards17/01/2002MonmouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/01/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson17/01/2002Hampstead & HighgateLabourSigned
Jim Knight17/01/2002South DorsetLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd18/01/2002Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Drew18/01/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Vera Baird18/01/2002RedcarLabourSigned
Rudi Vis18/01/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle21/01/2002ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian Cotter21/01/2002Weston-Super-MareLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham21/01/2002Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Sue Doughty21/01/2002GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams21/01/2002ConwyLabourSigned
Jimmy Wray21/01/2002Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Russell Brown22/01/2002DumfriesLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd22/01/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Jones22/01/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer28/01/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Irene Adams05/02/2002Paisley NorthLabourSigned
Don Foster06/02/2002BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Oona King12/02/2002Bethnal Green & BowLabourSigned
Paul Daisley11/03/2002Brent EastLabourSigned
Pete Wishart10/04/2002North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Ann Widdecombe12/04/2002Maidstone & The WealdConservativeSigned
Annabelle Ewing16/04/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
Marsha Singh18/04/2002Bradford WestLabourSigned
John Austin23/04/2002Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Patrick Hall08/05/2002BedfordLabourSigned
Wayne David09/05/2002CaerphillyLabourSigned
Mike Wood13/06/2002Batley & SpenLabourSigned
Christine Russell27/06/2002Chester, City ofLabourSigned
Alan Beith01/07/2002Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.