Parliament Website

Commemorative Stamps For The Island Of St Helena

EDM number 659 in 2001-02, proposed by Bob Russell on 15/01/2002.

That this House notes that the 500th anniversary of the discovery of the Island of St Helena is 21st May 2002; recognises the loyalty of the Island's residents to the British Crown over the centuries; acknowledges the importance of the Island to the United Kingdom in the days of the Empire; believes that the United Kingdom has a continuing obligation to the Island and its residents; looks forward to the restoration of full British citizenship by the time of the 500th anniversary celebrations; and calls on the Royal Mail to introduce commemorative stamps to mark the occasion.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Bob Russell15/01/2002ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Lindsay Hoyle15/01/2002ChorleyLabourSigned
Martin Smyth16/01/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Lynne Jones16/01/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Peter Bradley16/01/2002Wrekin, TheLabourSigned
John Cummings16/01/2002EasingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/01/2002HendonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock16/01/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes16/01/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell17/01/2002RomfordConservativeSigned
Eric Illsley17/01/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan17/01/2002Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Andrew George17/01/2002St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths17/01/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Paul Tyler17/01/2002North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis18/01/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge18/01/2002Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Burnside21/01/2002South AntrimUUPSigned
Tom Clarke21/01/2002Coatbridge & ChrystonLabourSigned
Brian Cotter21/01/2002Weston-Super-MareLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham21/01/2002Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jimmy Wray21/01/2002Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Roy Beggs22/01/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Nigel Jones22/01/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Hurst22/01/2002BraintreeLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz23/01/2002Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Crausby23/01/2002Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Tom Brake24/01/2002Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox24/01/2002TootingLabourSigned
Nick Harvey06/02/2002North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Matthew Green12/02/2002LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/03/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Keith VazUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.