Parliament Website


EDM number 121 in 2002-03, proposed by John Austin on 18/11/2002.

That this House recognises the inalienable right of all UK overseas territories to self-determination, namely the right freely and democratically to decide their own political future without external interference or duress; stresses that this principle applied equally to those territories, namely Gibraltar and the Falkland Islands, which are the subject to territorial claims by third countries; notes that in a recent referendum of the people of Gibraltar, 87.9 per cent. of the electorate voted and that 98.97 per cent. of those voting resolutely rejected any claims by Spain for sovereignty or shared sovereignty; calls upon Her Majesty's Government to take note of the overwhelming view of the people of Gibraltar; urges Her Majesty's Government not to enter into any political agreements with Spain in relation to the principles affecting the sovereignty of Gibraltar and the political rights of the people of Gibraltar against their wishes and consent; and furthermore joins the chief ministers of the Overseas Territories Consultative Council in expressing solidarity with, and support for, the people of Gibraltar in the defence of their political rights and aspirations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

John Austin18/11/2002Erith & ThamesmeadLabourProposed
Jimmy Hood18/11/2002ClydesdaleLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton18/11/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton18/11/2002CongletonConservativeSigned
Richard Taylor18/11/2002Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
Sandra Gidley18/11/2002RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Chidgey18/11/2002EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Burns18/11/2002West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Peter Atkinson18/11/2002HexhamConservativeSigned
Edward O'Hara19/11/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Tony Banks19/11/2002West HamLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/11/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Burnside19/11/2002South AntrimUUPSigned
Alan Meale19/11/2002MansfieldLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/11/2002ChorleyLabourSigned
Bob Spink19/11/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
Martin Smyth19/11/2002Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Bob Russell19/11/2002ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Wray20/11/2002Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Brian White20/11/2002North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Roy Beggs20/11/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
Harry Barnes20/11/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Edward Garnier20/11/2002HarboroughConservativeSigned
Ian Davidson20/11/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/11/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell20/11/2002East LondonderryDUPSigned
Tim Loughton20/11/2002East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
David Heath20/11/2002Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell20/11/2002RomfordConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson20/11/2002StrangfordDUPSigned
Derek Conway20/11/2002Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/11/2002Luton NorthLabourSigned
Colin Breed21/11/2002South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Sue Doughty21/11/2002GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew21/11/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Syd Rapson25/11/2002Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
David Amess25/11/2002Southend WestConservativeSigned
David Crausby26/11/2002Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hugo Swire26/11/2002East DevonConservativeSigned
Alan Hurst27/11/2002BraintreeLabourSigned
Edward Leigh27/11/2002GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Ian Paisley27/11/2002North AntrimDUPSigned
Louise Ellman27/11/2002Liverpool, RiversideLabour Co-operativeSigned
Paul Keetch28/11/2002HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Colman28/11/2002PutneyLabourSigned
David Taylor02/12/2002North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bill Etherington05/12/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Ann Widdecombe12/12/2002Maidstone & The WealdConservativeSigned
Nigel Jones16/12/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeff Ennis17/12/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.