Parliament Website

Convention On The Future Of Europe

EDM number 1249 in 2002-03, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 19/05/2003.

That this House considers that the proposed Treaty soon to emerge from the Convention on the Future of Europe chaired by former French President, Valery Giscard d'Estaing, will, if adopted, mark a fundamental step in the evolution of the European Union; believes that the British people should be made fully aware of the significance of such a step for the future of Britain and for Europe; is of the opinion that a decision by Britain to support or oppose a new Treaty would not have legitimacy without the genuine consent of the British people; notes the conclusion of a recent opinion poll that 84 per cent. of British voters would wish to have a referendum on the issue; and therefore calls on the Government to commit itself to holding a referendum at the appropriate time.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins19/05/2003Luton NorthLabourProposed
Alan Simpson19/05/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alan Williams19/05/2003Swansea WestLabourSigned
Robert Wareing19/05/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Taylor19/05/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harry Barnes19/05/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Graham Allen19/05/2003Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott19/05/2003Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Ian Gibson19/05/2003Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Mark Fisher19/05/2003Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
David Drew19/05/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Hilton Dawson19/05/2003Lancaster & WyreLabourSigned
Denzil Davies19/05/2003LlanelliLabourSigned
John Cryer19/05/2003HornchurchLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/05/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Frank Cook19/05/2003Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham19/05/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Colin Challen19/05/2003Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/05/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/05/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alice Mahon19/05/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Terry Lewis19/05/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Llew Smith19/05/2003Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Ian Davidson19/05/2003Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Gerry Steinberg20/05/2003Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton20/05/2003MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton20/05/2003CongletonConservativeSigned
Graham Stringer20/05/2003Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
George Stevenson20/05/2003Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Harold Best20/05/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
John Bercow20/05/2003BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock20/05/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer20/05/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell20/05/2003Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley20/05/2003Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds21/05/2003Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Kate Hoey22/05/2003VauxhallLabourSigned
Bob Spink22/05/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson22/05/2003StrangfordDUPSigned
Frank Field04/06/2003BirkenheadLabourSigned
Terry Davis05/06/2003Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff09/06/2003Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small HeathLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell16/06/2003RomfordConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon30/06/2003North DownUUPSigned
David Marshall02/07/2003Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell03/07/2003East LondonderryDUPSigned
Lynne Jones29/10/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.