Parliament Website

Bedouin Unrecognised Villages

EDM number 1491 in 2002-03, proposed by Patrick Hall on 30/06/2003.

That this House expresses deep concern at the Israeli Government's proposal to transfer over a five year period 74,000 Bedouin from 45 unrecognised villages in the Negev, Southern Israel into state built townships; condemns the Israeli Government's policy of refusing to recognise these villages and in particular condemns the house demolitions, confiscation of land, spraying of crops with toxic chemicals and refusal to allow provision of basic amenities such as electricity, water and sewage and health and education services; notes the discrimination against the Bedouin community through the denial of its right to establish elected local councils to provide services; urges the Israeli Government to abandon the Transfer Plan and reconsider the alternative plan already submitted by the Together Forum for Growth and Equality in the Negev which was produced with the elected representatives of the Bedouin community.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Patrick Hall30/06/2003BedfordLabourProposed
Brian Iddon01/07/2003Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lynne Jones01/07/2003Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Marsden01/07/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings01/07/2003EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Roy Beggs01/07/2003East AntrimUUPSigned
Robert Wareing01/07/2003Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon02/07/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Simon Thomas02/07/2003CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew George02/07/2003St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer02/07/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/07/2003Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton02/07/2003GowerLabourSigned
Richard Burden02/07/2003Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden02/07/2003Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Terry Lewis02/07/2003WorsleyLabourSigned
Martin Smyth02/07/2003Belfast SouthIndependent Ulster UnionistSigned
Paul Tyler03/07/2003North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington03/07/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Drew03/07/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Colin Breed03/07/2003South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake03/07/2003Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/07/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham03/07/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Rob Marris07/07/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard07/07/2003WalthamstowLabourSigned
Bob Russell08/07/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/07/2003Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Kevin McNamara08/07/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley08/07/2003Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jenny Tonge08/07/2003Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Ken Purchase09/07/2003Wolverhampton North EastLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Marsha Singh09/07/2003Bradford WestLabourSigned
Nick Harvey14/07/2003North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty15/07/2003Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Syd Rapson16/07/2003Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson16/07/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Jones16/07/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean16/07/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Win Griffiths16/07/2003BridgendLabourSigned
Brian White16/07/2003North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Julia Drown08/09/2003South SwindonLabourSigned
Harold Best08/09/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Pete Wishart08/09/2003North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
David Lepper10/09/2003Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Adam Price15/09/2003Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Clarke22/10/2003Northampton SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.