Parliament Website

Union Flag And The Palace Of Westminster

EDM number 504 in 2002-03, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 13/01/2003.

That this House notes that the Union Flag is flown by Her Majesty The Queen throughout the year from Buckingham Palace, except when Her Majesty is in residence when The Royal Standard is raised; further notes that Havering Town Hall in Romford displays the Union Flag all year round, recently joined by Basildon Town Hall; also notes that in many other countries the national flag is proudly flown on public buildings all the time; further notes the resurgence in popularity of the flag on clothes, aircraft and corporate buildings; believes the Union Flag is a symbol of unity within our nation and represents all British people, regardless of which region or origin they may be from; and calls upon the House authorities to raise the Union Flag above the Victoria Tower and all other parliamentary buildings throughout the year and not just when Parliament is in session.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Andrew Rosindell13/01/2003RomfordConservativeProposed
Bob Russell13/01/2003ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Angela Watkinson13/01/2003UpminsterConservativeSigned
John Baron13/01/2003BillericayConservativeSigned
Gregory Barker13/01/2003Bexhill & BattleConservativeSigned
Mark Field13/01/2003Cities of London & WestminsterConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson13/01/2003Lagan ValleyUUPSigned
Austin Mitchell13/01/2003Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Julian Lewis13/01/2003New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Bob Spink13/01/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
John Randall14/01/2003UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Martin Smyth14/01/2003Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Paul Keetch14/01/2003HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton14/01/2003MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
David Wilshire15/01/2003SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire15/01/2003East DevonConservativeSigned
Desmond Swayne15/01/2003New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell15/01/2003East LondonderryDUPSigned
Mike Hancock15/01/2003Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Flook15/01/2003TauntonConservativeSigned
David Burnside15/01/2003South AntrimUUPSigned
Graham Brady15/01/2003Altrincham & Sale WestConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson15/01/2003StrangfordDUPSigned
Marion Roe16/01/2003BroxbourneConservativeSigned
Tim Loughton16/01/2003East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
Peter Duncan16/01/2003Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Mark Francois16/01/2003RayleighConservativeSigned
Paul Marsden21/01/2003Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Roy Beggs21/01/2003East AntrimUUPSigned
Lindsay Hoyle22/01/2003ChorleyLabourSigned
Ann Widdecombe04/02/2003Maidstone & The WealdConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds05/02/2003Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Nigel Jones12/02/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Christopher Chope03/04/2003ChristchurchConservativeSigned
David Amess03/04/2003Southend WestConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.