Parliament Website

Historic Counties Of The United Kingdom

EDM number 74 in 2002-03, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 13/11/2002.

That this House recognises that the historic counties of the United Kingdom are an important part of the history, geography and cultural life of the nation, that the United Kingdom requires a fixed popular geographical framework, that is divorced from the ever changing local government boundaries, instead being rooted in history, public understanding and commonly held notions of community and identity, and that the historic counties are the only choice for such a geographical framework; and urges Her Majesty's Government to direct the Ordnance Survey properly to mark the boundaries of the historic counties on its maps, to produce regulations which will ensure that the boundaries of all the historic counties are clearly marked by appropriate boundary signs at places where they cross major highways, to amend local government terminology so that the word 'county', as it applies to local government areas, is amended to the more appropriate phrase 'administrative county', and to return the ceremonial office of lord-lieutenant to the areas of the historic counties.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Andrew Rosindell13/11/2002RomfordConservativeProposed
John Pugh14/11/2002SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
David Atkinson14/11/2002Bournemouth EastConservativeSigned
David Wilshire14/11/2002SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton14/11/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
John Randall18/11/2002UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Bob Spink19/11/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
John McDonnell19/11/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Adrian Flook19/11/2002TauntonConservativeSigned
James Gray19/11/2002North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock19/11/2002Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Loughton20/11/2002East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
Harry Barnes20/11/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Edward Garnier20/11/2002HarboroughConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson20/11/2002Lagan ValleyUUPSigned
Gregory Campbell20/11/2002East LondonderryDUPSigned
Terry Lewis20/11/2002WorsleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/11/2002BurtonLabourSigned
Desmond Swayne28/11/2002New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson28/11/2002UpminsterConservativeSigned
Marion Roe02/12/2002BroxbourneConservativeSigned
Roger Williams02/12/2002Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Wilkinson02/12/2002Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
Peter Viggers02/12/2002GosportConservativeSigned
Michael Fabricant02/12/2002LichfieldConservativeSigned
Jonathan Djanogly02/12/2002HuntingdonConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire02/12/2002East DevonConservativeSigned
Stephen O'Brien03/12/2002EddisburyConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton04/12/2002CongletonConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis09/12/2002New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Brian Mawhinney09/12/2002North West CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Harold Best10/12/2002Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2002StrangfordDUPSigned
David Hinchliffe17/12/2002WakefieldLabourSigned
Ian Paisley18/12/2002North AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Dorrell19/12/2002CharnwoodConservativeSigned
David Tredinnick09/01/2003BosworthConservativeSigned
John Cryer14/01/2003HornchurchLabourSigned
Oliver Letwin04/03/2003West DorsetConservativeSigned
Paul Burstow24/03/2003Sutton & CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ernie RossUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.