Parliament Website

Self-Determination For People Of Kashmir

EDM number 291 in 2004-05, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 06/12/2004.

That this House recognises that the question of self-determination for the people of Kashmir remains unresolved more than 50 years after the creation of India and Pakistan as independent states; wholeheartedly welcomes the new approach being taken by the governments of India and Pakistan to bring a peaceful solution to one of the world's longest running disputes; calls upon all groups to cease human rights violations and allow the free movement of local people and leaders; and reaffirms its belief that Her Majesty's Government should continue vigorously to support the right of the Kasmiri people to determine their own future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Roger Godsiff06/12/2004Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small HeathLabourProposed
Brian Iddon07/12/2004Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/12/2004GowerLabourSigned
Paul Goodman07/12/2004WycombeConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley07/12/2004Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Michael Weir07/12/2004AngusScottish National PartySigned
Marsha Singh08/12/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Paul Holmes08/12/2004ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew George08/12/2004St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock08/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes08/12/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Clive Betts09/12/2004Sheffield, AttercliffeLabourSigned
Lorna Fitzsimons09/12/2004RochdaleLabourSigned
Anne Campbell09/12/2004CambridgeLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt09/12/2004CrawleyLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/12/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Greg Pope09/12/2004HyndburnLabourSigned
Richard Burden09/12/2004Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Betty Williams13/12/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing13/12/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Janet Dean13/12/2004BurtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones13/12/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson13/12/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Peter Pike13/12/2004BurnleyLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard14/12/2004WalthamstowLabourSigned
George Stevenson14/12/2004Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge14/12/2004Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham15/12/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
David Hamilton15/12/2004MidlothianLabourSigned
David Crausby16/12/2004Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Janet Anderson16/12/2004Rossendale & DarwenLabourSigned
Adam Price17/01/2005Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
David Chaytor25/01/2005Bury NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway02/02/2005Glasgow, KelvinIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.