Parliament Website

Privatisation Of Ministry Of Defence Records

EDM number 301 in 2004-05, proposed by John McDonnell on 06/12/2004.

That this House notes with extreme concern reports that the process of privatisation of the Ministry of Defence Records Office at Bourne Avenue, Hayes, is putting the private and confidential records of past and present British servicemen and women at risk as a result of the lack of professional care and adequate security in the handling and transfer of these invaluable documents by TNT, which was awarded the contract to store these files; considers these historical artefacts are too important to be put in jeopardy in this way; and calls upon the Government to undertake an immediate independent investigation as a matter of urgency into the current status of the records and the process of the records transfer by TNT.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

John McDonnell06/12/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourProposed
John Randall06/12/2004UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Bob Russell06/12/2004ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir07/12/2004AngusScottish National PartySigned
James Gray07/12/2004North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Andrew Dismore07/12/2004HendonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/12/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/12/2004GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale07/12/2004MansfieldLabourSigned
Rob Marris07/12/2004Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Terry Lewis07/12/2004WorsleyLabourSigned
Stephen Pound07/12/2004Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Colin Breed07/12/2004South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing08/12/2004Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Harry Barnes08/12/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Ainsworth08/12/2004East SurreyConservativeSigned
Andrew George08/12/2004St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen08/12/2004Ynys MLabourSigned
Nigel Jones08/12/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner08/12/2004BolsoverLabourSigned
Paul Tyler09/12/2004North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Jackson09/12/2004WantageConservativeSigned
Win Griffiths09/12/2004BridgendLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara09/12/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Adam Price09/12/2004Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
David Drew09/12/2004StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Phil Sawford13/12/2004KetteringLabourSigned
Alan Simpson13/12/2004Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones13/12/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing13/12/2004PerthScottish National PartySigned
Rudi Vis13/12/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Wilkinson13/12/2004Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
Betty Williams13/12/2004ConwyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen14/12/2004Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard14/12/2004WalthamstowLabourSigned
Marsha Singh15/12/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham15/12/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
John Pugh21/12/2004SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Iain Coleman10/01/2005Hammersmith & FulhamLabourSigned
Mike Gapes10/01/2005Ilford SouthLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Barrett10/01/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Marsden17/01/2005Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington18/01/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Sayeed23/02/2005Mid BedfordshireIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.