Parliament Website

Tax Avoidance

EDM number 362 in 2004-05, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 09/12/2004.

That this House welcomes the Government's Pre-Budget report and its proposal to clamp down on artificial tax avoidance schemes; urges it to end the domicile, residence and the offshore tax avoidance loop-holes that enable millionaires and numerous companies trading in the UK to avoid UK taxes; and further urges the Government to introduce the General Anti-Avoidance Principle as a matter of priority so that transactions lacking normal commercial substance and solely entered into for the purpose of tax avoidance are ignored for tax purposes, thereby providing certainty, fairness and clarity, which the UK's taxation system requires to prevent abusive tax avoidance, to protect the interest of ordinary citizens who are committed to making their contribution to society, to avoid an unnecessary burden of tax on individual tax payers and to ensure that companies pay fair taxes on profits generated in this country.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Austin Mitchell09/12/2004Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Jim Cousins09/12/2004Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Paul Holmes13/12/2004ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell13/12/2004Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer13/12/2004KeighleyLabourSigned
Harry Barnes13/12/2004North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Rudi Vis13/12/2004Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/12/2004Newport WestLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge14/12/2004Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor14/12/2004North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Peter Bottomley14/12/2004Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Roy Beggs14/12/2004East AntrimUUPSigned
Mike Hancock14/12/2004Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton14/12/2004GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell14/12/2004East LondonderryDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd14/12/2004Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/12/2004Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham15/12/2004Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt15/12/2004Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing15/12/2004Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
John Cummings15/12/2004EasingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn15/12/2004Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/12/2004Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara15/12/2004Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Terry Lewis15/12/2004WorsleyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones15/12/2004CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones15/12/2004Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Marsha Singh15/12/2004Bradford WestLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/12/2004South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross16/12/2004TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Tyler16/12/2004North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Huw Edwards16/12/2004MonmouthLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/12/2004HendonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen16/12/2004Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Anne Campbell16/12/2004CambridgeLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner16/12/2004BolsoverLabourSigned
Annette Brooke20/12/2004Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson20/12/2004Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Betty Williams20/12/2004ConwyLabourSigned
John Pugh21/12/2004SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett10/01/2005Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew11/01/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Crausby12/01/2005Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Heyes13/01/2005Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Jon Trickett17/01/2005HemsworthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington18/01/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andy Reed20/01/2005LoughboroughLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alan Simpson24/01/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.