Parliament Website

Net-Guide Rnib Accreditation

EDM number 461 in 2004-05, proposed by Tom Brake on 11/01/2005.

That this House offers its congratulations to net-progress, an internet consultancy based in Carshalton, Surrey, on the launch of; commends net-guide for achieving See it Right accreditation from the Royal National Institute of the Blind (RNIB); notes that the See it Right website logo is awarded to websites that have demonstrated a commitment to best practice website accessibility; further notes net-guide is an internet search engine and website directory designed to be easy to use, regardless of whether or not users are blind or partially sighted; recognises the diligent work done by net-guide in conducting independent audits on the accessibility of the websites in its database, which gives users an idea of the ease of use of the websites returned in a search or from browsing the directories; believes that two million people in the UK with a sight problem deserve fair access to electronic information; and calls on web designers to take on board the practical advice offered by the RNIB for producing websites that meet the information needs of the blind and partially sighted, a requirement enshrined in section 21 of the Disability Discrimination Act 1999.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Tom Brake11/01/2005Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Spink11/01/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
Andrew George11/01/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Smyth12/01/2005Belfast SouthUUPSigned
Paul Holmes12/01/2005ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones12/01/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Nigel Jones12/01/2005CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell12/01/2005Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/01/2005GowerLabourSigned
David Chidgey12/01/2005EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer12/01/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds12/01/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Rudi Vis12/01/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Richard Burden13/01/2005Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Paul Tyler13/01/2005North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes13/01/2005North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Matthew Green13/01/2005LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew13/01/2005StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Colman13/01/2005PutneyLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz13/01/2005Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Paul Marsden17/01/2005Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock17/01/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell17/01/2005Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Tonge17/01/2005Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams17/01/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington18/01/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable18/01/2005TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Sue Doughty18/01/2005GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/01/2005ChorleyLabourSigned
Annette Brooke19/01/2005Mid Dorset & North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton19/01/2005MidlothianLabourSigned
John Robertson20/01/2005Glasgow, AnnieslandLabourSigned
Michael Clapham20/01/2005Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Bill Tynan20/01/2005Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/01/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Adrian Flook24/01/2005TauntonConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson25/01/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Brian Sedgemore27/01/2005Hackney South & ShoreditchLabourSigned
John Battle27/01/2005Leeds WestLabourSigned
Brian White27/01/2005North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Patsy Calton01/02/2005CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/02/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Phil Sawford03/02/2005KetteringLabourSigned
John Austin03/02/2005Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
James Plaskitt21/02/2005Warwick & LeamingtonLabourSigned
Paul Goodman21/02/2005WycombeConservativeSigned
Andrew Lansley23/02/2005South CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Matthew Taylor24/02/2005Truro & St AustellLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen28/02/2005Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/03/2005MansfieldLabourSigned
Barbara Roche08/03/2005Hornsey & Wood GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore08/03/2005HendonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/03/2005JarrowLabourSigned
Parmjit Gill06/04/2005Leicester SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith06/04/2005Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.