Parliament Website

Reconfiguration Of The Gatwick Express

EDM number 709 in 2004-05, proposed by Brian H Donohoe on 09/02/2005.

That this House expresses its deep concern at the proposals put forward by the Strategic Rail Authority to reconfigure the Gatwick Express into a stopping service; understands that the decision is being taken in order to increase rail capacity between London and the South Coast, but believes this will have a detrimental effect on both the air passengers at Gatwick Airport and the rail passengers along this route; notes that the rail needs of air passengers are significantly different from those of commuters; believes that introducing a stopping service will increase journey times significantly and increase the number of travellers on an already overcrowded line; further believes that the Gatwick Express is a fantastic service that offers the travelling passenger a journey that is convenient, efficient and reliable; and calls upon the Strategic Rail Authority to abandon its plans to abolish the service in its current format.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Brian H Donohoe09/02/2005Cunninghame SouthLabourProposed
Ken Purchase09/02/2005Wolverhampton North EastLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Alan Keen09/02/2005Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Marshall09/02/2005Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe09/02/2005Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham09/02/2005Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Angela Eagle09/02/2005WallaseyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson10/02/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Wilshire10/02/2005SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Harry Barnes10/02/2005North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore10/02/2005HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/02/2005GowerLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara10/02/2005Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Syd Rapson10/02/2005Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis21/02/2005Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Betty Williams21/02/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Brian White21/02/2005North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge21/02/2005Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock21/02/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Hoey21/02/2005VauxhallLabourSigned
Alan Meale22/02/2005MansfieldLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt22/02/2005CrawleyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer22/02/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Nigel Evans22/02/2005Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Andrew George22/02/2005St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Thomas22/02/2005CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Janet Dean23/02/2005BurtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis23/02/2005Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Win Griffiths24/02/2005BridgendLabourSigned
Bill Etherington25/02/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.