Parliament Website

Statutory Duty On Lobbying

EDM number 1059 in 2005-06, proposed by Peter Lilley on 16/11/2005.

That this House notes that, shortly after the Home Secretary urged chief police officers to lobby honourable Members in favour of Government policy, a senior Home Office official wrote to chief probation officers banning them from lobbying; accepts that the Home Office Director of Probation stated the position of chief officers and other senior officials correctly when he told them `I am writing to you formally to remind you of your responsibilities in your roles as statutory office holders, ministerial appointees and civil servants. You should not engage in lobbying activity...'; believes that this demonstrates that the Home Secretary was quite wrong to invite chief constables to write to honourable Members in their areas to lobby for Government policy on a highly contentious matter; reaffirms that this was a dangerous step towards politicisation of the police force, who have a proud record of being non-partisan in this country; calls on the Home Secretary to come to the House to explain the contradictions in his Department's policy on lobbying; urges the Select Committee on Home Affairs to investigate the unprecedented mobilisation of chief constables to support central government policy; expresses concern at the statement in the Home Office letter that officials `should avoid any action that might suggest you are encouraging staff to lobby against Government policy'; believes it would be extremely damaging if, together with the public efforts to persuade police to lobby in favour of Government policy, the Government were to establish a rule that officials can lobby in support of Government policy but not against it; and recommends that public servants offer advice to Ministers and give factual evidence in response to inquiries from members of the public but avoid being drawn into lobbying for or against Government policies.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Peter Lilley16/11/2005Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeProposed
Michael Penning16/11/2005Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
Anne Main16/11/2005St AlbansConservativeSeconded
Adam Holloway16/11/2005GraveshamConservativeSeconded
Mark Lancaster16/11/2005North East Milton KeynesConservativeSeconded
Charles Walker16/11/2005BroxbourneConservativeSeconded
David Gauke16/11/2005South West HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Iris Robinson17/11/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Lynne Jones17/11/2005Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Robert Key17/11/2005SalisburyConservativeSigned
Andrew MacKay17/11/2005BracknellConservativeSigned
Derek Conway17/11/2005Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Stephen Dorrell17/11/2005CharnwoodConservativeSigned
Peter Luff21/11/2005Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson21/11/2005UpminsterConservativeSigned
Cheryl Gillan21/11/2005Chesham and AmershamConservativeSigned
Christopher Fraser21/11/2005South West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Michael Fabricant21/11/2005LichfieldConservativeSigned
Bob Spink21/11/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
Oliver Heald22/11/2005North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
John Horam22/11/2005OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss22/11/2005North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
James Gray22/11/2005North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock22/11/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Milton22/11/2005GuildfordConservativeSigned
Andrew Pelling22/11/2005Croydon CentralConservativeSigned
Edward Garnier23/11/2005HarboroughConservativeSigned
James Duddridge23/11/2005Rochford and Southend EastConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley23/11/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Pugh24/11/2005SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Loughton24/11/2005East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
George Galloway24/11/2005Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
John Hemming24/11/2005Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell28/11/2005RomfordConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous28/11/2005South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Eleanor Laing28/11/2005Epping ForestConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis28/11/2005New Forest EastConservativeSigned
David Amess28/11/2005Southend WestConservativeSigned
Shailesh Vara29/11/2005North West CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Stephen Hammond30/11/2005WimbledonConservativeSigned
Paul Rowen30/11/2005RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Mundell30/11/2005Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleConservativeSigned
Caroline Spelman01/12/2005MeridenConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd01/12/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Philip Hammond01/12/2005Runnymede and WeybridgeConservativeSigned
Bill Wiggin05/12/2005LeominsterConservativeSigned
Julian Brazier06/12/2005CanterburyConservativeSigned
James Brokenshire12/12/2005HornchurchConservativeSigned
David Wilshire19/12/2005SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Charles Hendry20/12/2005WealdenConservativeSigned
Andrew Murrison20/12/2005WestburyConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire06/03/2006East DevonConservativeSigned
Patrick Mercer24/04/2006NewarkConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.