Parliament Website

Pensioner Poverty And The Earnings Link To Tax Credits

EDM number 1115 in 2005-06, proposed by John McDonnell on 24/11/2005.

That this House notes that the Chancellor of the Exchequer has based his strategy to eliminate pensioner poverty on targeting benefits to the poorest pensioners via the tax credit system by linking the level of tax credit to earnings, which has ensured that the poorest pensioners have shared in the growing prosperity of the country; is therefore perturbed to note that this link with earnings may be broken; and calls upon the Government to reassure the UK's pensioners that the earnings link to tax credits will not be removed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

John McDonnell24/11/2005Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley28/11/2005Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins28/11/2005Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn28/11/2005Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams28/11/2005CaernarfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Durkan29/11/2005FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Robert Wareing29/11/2005Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Taylor29/11/2005North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Paul Flynn29/11/2005Newport WestLabourSigned
Iris Robinson29/11/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson30/11/2005Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea30/11/2005South AntrimDUPSigned
Mike Hancock30/11/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis30/11/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Linda Riordan30/11/2005HalifaxLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell01/12/2005Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Katy Clark01/12/2005North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Anderson01/12/2005BlaydonLabourSigned
Diane Abbott01/12/2005Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Mark Fisher01/12/2005Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
David Drew01/12/2005StroudLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds01/12/2005Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd01/12/2005Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson02/12/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Janet Dean02/12/2005BurtonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/12/2005Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham05/12/2005Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/12/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/12/2005Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Nick Harvey15/12/2005North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/12/2005Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
David Heyes09/01/2006Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.