Parliament Website

Waitangi Day, New Zealand

EDM number 1497 in 2005-06, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 26/01/2006.

That this House joins the people of New Zealand in celebrating their National Day on Monday 6th February 2006, commemorating the historic signing of the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840, that marks the coming together of the Maori people and representatives of the British Crown; notes the importance of maintaining strong links between the United Kingdom and New Zealand; recognises the shared heritage, longstanding trading relationships and deeply intertwined cultural, educational and military ties between the peoples of these two great allies and Commonwealth members who share Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State and Sovereign; and urges the Government to continue to foster and strengthen the special relationship that binds the two nations together.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Andrew Rosindell26/01/2006RomfordConservativeProposed
David Marshall26/01/2006Glasgow EastLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle26/01/2006ChorleyLabourSeconded
David Jones26/01/2006Clwyd WestConservativeSeconded
Austin Mitchell26/01/2006Great GrimsbyLabourSeconded
Khalid Mahmood26/01/2006Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSeconded
John Hayes26/01/2006South Holland and The DeepingsConservativeSigned
Michael Penning26/01/2006Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
David Hamilton30/01/2006MidlothianLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley30/01/2006Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock30/01/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings30/01/2006EasingtonLabourSigned
Nick Brown30/01/2006Newcastle upon Tyne East and WallsendLabourSigned
Tim Loughton30/01/2006East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
Bob Spink30/01/2006Castle PointConservativeSigned
John McDonnell31/01/2006Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds31/01/2006Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeff Ennis31/01/2006Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Roger Williams31/01/2006Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch01/02/2006HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil01/02/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
David Wilshire01/02/2006SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis01/02/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore01/02/2006HendonLabourSigned
Derek Conway01/02/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Martin Caton01/02/2006GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/02/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson01/02/2006Upper BannDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson02/02/2006Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody02/02/2006Crewe & NantwichLabourSigned
Iris Robinson06/02/2006StrangfordDUPSigned
Tom Brake06/02/2006Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer06/02/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
David Borrow06/02/2006South RibbleLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/02/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins07/02/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/02/2006ConwyLabourSigned
John Hemming09/02/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley13/02/2006Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington14/02/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.