Parliament Website

Slavery And Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade

EDM number 1616 in 2005-06, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 09/02/2006.

That this House welcomes the unanimous decision of the Church of England Synod to acknowledge and apologise for the complicity of the Church in the slave trade; pays tribute to the decade-long campaign led by African countries and representatives of the African diaspora to gain international recognition for the injustices perpetrated in the era of slave trade and to address the lasting legacy of poverty and discrimination; recognises the inspiration derived from Pope John Paul II in his 1991 apology for the `sins of Christian Europe against Africa'; believes that, on the eve of the 2007 bicentenary anniversary of abolition, it is no longer sufficient merely to express regret that slavery occurred; urges the Government to prepare a declaration that recognises slavery and the trans-Atlantic slave trade as a crime against humanity; and calls upon the Home Office Bicentenary Advisory Group to identify a suitable opportunity for an apology to be made on behalf of the nation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn09/02/2006Islington NorthLabourProposed
Diane Abbott09/02/2006Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew George09/02/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle13/02/2006ChorleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/02/2006Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock13/02/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Eric Illsley13/02/2006Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John Leech13/02/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil14/02/2006Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams14/02/2006CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Keith Vaz14/02/2006Leicester EastLabourSigned
Gary Streeter14/02/2006South West DevonConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn14/02/2006Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Fisher14/02/2006Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Mark Durkan14/02/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Harry Cohen14/02/2006Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/02/2006GowerLabourSigned
Annette Brooke14/02/2006Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale14/02/2006MansfieldLabourSigned
Lynne Jones14/02/2006Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/02/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey14/02/2006North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore14/02/2006HendonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty15/02/2006Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt15/02/2006Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis15/02/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer15/02/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Horwood16/02/2006CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Emily Thornberry16/02/2006Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/02/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Devine27/02/2006LivingstonLabourSigned
Mark Williams27/02/2006CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Sharon Hodgson27/02/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
Betty Williams27/02/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington27/02/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/02/2006BurtonLabourSigned
David Drew28/02/2006StroudLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/03/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson13/03/2006East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Holloway29/03/2006GraveshamConservativeSigned
Chris Bryant30/03/2006RhonddaLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn18/04/2006JarrowLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar02/05/2006Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
John Barrett15/05/2006Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.