Parliament Website

Reducing Childhood Obesity

EDM number 2006 in 2005-06, proposed by Desmond Turner on 20/04/2006.

That this House notes with concern that around 25 per cent. of young people in the United Kingdom today are already overweight or obese, a level predicted by the International Obesity Task Force as likely to rise to 40 per cent. by 2010; further notes that a study published in the March 2006 edition of the journal of the American Academy of Pediatrics and consistent with much other published data, suggests that teenagers who consume calorie-free soft drinks are likely to gain 1lb in weight less every month and be up to a stone lighter after a year than those drinking one can of higher calorie regular soft drink per day; and concludes that discouraging the consumption of high calorie sugar sweetened soft drinks and substituting with calorie-free or low calorie drinks which are attractive to children and meet their need for re-hydration and refreshment will make a massive contribution to the future health of children and reduce childhood obesity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Desmond Turner20/04/2006Brighton, KemptownLabourProposed
Brian Iddon20/04/2006Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Ian Gibson20/04/2006Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
John Battle20/04/2006Leeds WestLabourSeconded
Bob Russell20/04/2006ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nigel Evans24/04/2006Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore24/04/2006HendonLabourSigned
Jim Devine24/04/2006LivingstonLabourSigned
David Taylor24/04/2006North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Tim Loughton24/04/2006East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon24/04/2006North DownUUPSigned
Bob Spink24/04/2006Castle PointConservativeSigned
Tom Brake25/04/2006Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Helen Goodman25/04/2006Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Lyn Brown25/04/2006West HamLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/04/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott25/04/2006Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Andrew George25/04/2006St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/04/2006Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/04/2006GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell25/04/2006East LondonderryDUPSigned
Colin Breed25/04/2006South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle25/04/2006ChorleyLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders25/04/2006TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz26/04/2006Leicester EastLabourSigned
John Leech26/04/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis26/04/2006Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Hywel Francis26/04/2006AberavonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan26/04/2006FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby26/04/2006Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Derek Conway26/04/2006Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
David Simpson26/04/2006Upper BannDUPSigned
Iris Robinson26/04/2006StrangfordDUPSigned
David Drew26/04/2006StroudLabourSigned
Alan Simpson27/04/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins27/04/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/04/2006Newport WestLabourSigned
John Hemming27/04/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea02/05/2006South AntrimDUPSigned
Ann Cryer02/05/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Phil Willis02/05/2006Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Sammy Wilson02/05/2006East AntrimDUPSigned
Mark Williams02/05/2006CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson03/05/2006Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Vincent Cable03/05/2006TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/05/2006Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/05/2006Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Dean04/05/2006BurtonLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson04/05/2006Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper04/05/2006West LancashireLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/05/2006ConwyLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis10/05/2006Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds10/05/2006Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Annette Brooke10/05/2006Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley10/05/2006Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt11/05/2006CrawleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington11/05/2006Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams11/05/2006CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Shailesh Vara17/05/2006North West CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Julie Morgan07/06/2006Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley19/06/2006RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Diana Johnson06/07/2006Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson25/07/2006East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.