Parliament Website

Action For Darfur

EDM number 2739 in 2005-06, proposed by William Hague on 12/10/2006.

That this House deplores the escalating conflict and worsening humanitarian situation in Darfur; calls on both the government of Sudan and rebel groups to cease fighting; further calls on the British Government to help facilitate renewed negotiations between the two sides; welcomes UN Security Council Resolution 1706 and calls for the British Government to help ensure concerted international pressure is placed on the government of Sudan to accept a UN force; acknowledges that the African Union Mission in Sudan (AMIS), in difficult circumstances, is doing a valuable job and is at the moment the only credible outside force in Darfur; therefore further calls for AMIS's mandate to be extended indefinitely beyond 31st December 2006 until such time as an alternative force is available on the ground; further calls on the international community urgently to secure full funding and logistical support for AMIS; endorses the suggestion that if a full UN deployment does not happen, the UN provide backup for the AMIS force; further calls for the British Government to push for NATO to enforce the no-fly-zone set up by the UN in 2004 but never implemented; further calls for the British Government at the EU summit on 20th October 2006 to push for tough targeted sanctions including asset freezes and travel bans on members of the government of Sudan who have been identified by UN-sponsored investigations as responsible for atrocities in Darfur; and further calls for the British Government to investigate and if necessary press for action against the offshore and international network of businesses owned by and linked to the government of Sudan.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

William Hague12/10/2006Richmond (Yorks)ConservativeProposed
Andrew Mitchell12/10/2006Sutton ColdfieldConservativeSeconded
Mark Simmonds12/10/2006Boston and SkegnessConservativeSeconded
Keith Simpson12/10/2006Mid NorfolkConservativeSeconded
Geoffrey Clifton-Brown12/10/2006CotswoldConservativeSeconded
Graham Brady12/10/2006Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink16/10/2006Castle PointConservativeSigned
Andrew MacKay16/10/2006BracknellConservativeSigned
James Gray16/10/2006North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley16/10/2006Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Waterson16/10/2006EastbourneConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson16/10/2006UpminsterConservativeSigned
Philip Davies16/10/2006ShipleyConservativeSigned
Stewart Jackson16/10/2006PeterboroughConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock17/10/2006Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Main17/10/2006St AlbansConservativeSigned
Michael Weir17/10/2006AngusScottish National PartySigned
Colin Breed17/10/2006South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Lilley18/10/2006Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell18/10/2006East LondonderryDUPSigned
Michael Ancram18/10/2006DevizesConservativeSigned
Phil Willis18/10/2006Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross18/10/2006TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Gove18/10/2006Surrey HeathConservativeSigned
Jeremy Hunt18/10/2006South West SurreyConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss19/10/2006North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Mark Hunter19/10/2006CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lee Scott19/10/2006Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
Shailesh Vara19/10/2006North West CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
James Duddridge19/10/2006Rochford and Southend EastConservativeSigned
Rob Marris19/10/2006Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/10/2006Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Pugh19/10/2006SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming19/10/2006Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer20/10/2006KeighleyLabourSigned
Philip Dunne20/10/2006LudlowConservativeSigned
Sammy Wilson23/10/2006East AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Austin23/10/2006Dudley NorthLabourSigned
John Leech23/10/2006Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Murrison24/10/2006WestburyConservativeSigned
Adam Holloway24/10/2006GraveshamConservativeSigned
Christopher Fraser24/10/2006South West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Michael Fabricant24/10/2006LichfieldConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis24/10/2006New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins24/10/2006TamworthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon24/10/2006North DownUUPSigned
Oliver Heald24/10/2006North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Anne Milton25/10/2006GuildfordConservativeSigned
Adam Price26/10/2006Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Field26/10/2006Cities of London and WestminsterConservativeSigned
David Maclean30/10/2006Penrith and The BorderConservativeSigned
Patrick Mercer30/10/2006NewarkConservativeSigned
Quentin Davies30/10/2006Grantham & StamfordConservativeSigned
Marsha Singh31/10/2006Bradford WestLabourSigned
Eleanor Laing31/10/2006Epping ForestConservativeSigned
Oliver Letwin31/10/2006West DorsetConservativeSigned
Cheryl Gillan31/10/2006Chesham and AmershamConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.