Parliament Website

London Host City For 2012 Olympics

EDM number 537 in 2005-06, proposed by Clive Efford on 06/07/2005.

That this House welcomes the decision of the International Olympic Committee to select London as the host city for the 2012 Olympics; congratulates Lord Coe and the members of the London Olympic bid, the Government and the Mayor of London on their outstanding team effort; recognises that the preparation for these games and the legacy they will leave will benefit the whole of the United Kingdom as well as the capital city; further welcomes the contribution the games will make to the regeneration of Stratford and the Thames Gateway; further recognises that the diversity of the population of London was one of the strongest elements that helped to secure the victory; looks forward to welcoming athletes and members of the Olympic community to the capital city; calls on every organisation involved in sport to become part of a nationwide community to promote participation in sport among people of all ages; and calls on the Government to spearhead a national programme of investment in sporting facilities and to encourage more young people to engage in all forms of sporting activity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 71 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Clive Efford06/07/2005ElthamLabourProposed
Andrew Dismore06/07/2005HendonLabourSeconded
Lyn Brown06/07/2005West HamLabourSeconded
Jon Cruddas06/07/2005DagenhamLabourSeconded
Joan Ruddock06/07/2005Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSeconded
Emily Thornberry06/07/2005Islington South and FinsburyLabourSeconded
Angela Eagle06/07/2005WallaseyLabourSigned
Lynda Waltho06/07/2005StourbridgeLabourSigned
Sarah McCarthy-Fry06/07/2005Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Helen Goodman06/07/2005Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Katy Clark06/07/2005North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Tony Wright06/07/2005Cannock ChaseLabourSigned
Betty Williams06/07/2005ConwyLabourSigned
Keith Vaz06/07/2005Leicester EastLabourSigned
Clive Betts06/07/2005Sheffield, AttercliffeLabourSigned
Stuart Bell06/07/2005MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
John Austin06/07/2005Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Harry Cohen06/07/2005Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Russell Brown06/07/2005Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Christine Russell06/07/2005City of ChesterLabourSigned
Phyllis Starkey06/07/2005Milton Keynes South WestLabourSigned
Doug Henderson06/07/2005Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Ann Keen06/07/2005Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Piara S Khabra06/07/2005Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Tom Levitt06/07/2005High PeakLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber06/07/2005Amber ValleyLabourSigned
Eric Martlew06/07/2005CarlisleLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/07/2005Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Miller06/07/2005Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Chris Bryant06/07/2005RhonddaLabourSigned
Alison Seabeck07/07/2005Plymouth, DevonportLabourSigned
John Hemming07/07/2005Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley07/07/2005Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock07/07/2005Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer07/07/2005KeighleyLabourSigned
John McFall07/07/2005West DunbartonshireLabourSigned
Tim Loughton07/07/2005East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
David Lepper07/07/2005Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood07/07/2005Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/07/2005Islington NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins11/07/2005Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Iddon11/07/2005Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz11/07/2005Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Janet Dean11/07/2005BurtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff11/07/2005Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
David Borrow11/07/2005South RibbleLabourSigned
Desmond Turner11/07/2005Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis12/07/2005Barnsley East and MexboroughLabourSigned
Paul Truswell12/07/2005PudseyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/07/2005Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/07/2005GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Love12/07/2005EdmontonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley12/07/2005Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bob Spink12/07/2005Castle PointConservativeSigned
Ann McKechin12/07/2005Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Iris Robinson13/07/2005StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon13/07/2005North DownUUPSigned
Gordon Marsden13/07/2005Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Richard Burden13/07/2005Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar14/07/2005Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Rudi Vis14/07/2005Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/07/2005Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell19/07/2005East LondonderryDUPSigned
Albert Owen19/07/2005Ynys MLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne19/07/2005Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Greg Pope20/07/2005HyndburnLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn10/10/2005JarrowLabourSigned
Hywel Francis12/10/2005AberavonLabourSigned
Paul Burstow15/11/2005Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael John FosterUnknownWithdrawn
Vera BairdUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.