Parliament Website

Human Rights Situation In Oaxaca, Mexico

EDM number 1828 in 2006-07, proposed by John McDonnell on 03/07/2007.

That this House notes that Ulises Ruiz Ortiz is accused of having become governor of the state of Oaxaca, Mexico through fraudulent elections in 2004, and of being responsible for human rights abuses against a mainly indigenous population, against teachers on strike for food, shoes and school supplies for pupils and higher wages, and against anyone who speaks out against the repression; further notes that the International Civil Commission for Human Rights Observation in December 2006, the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights in October 2006 and Amnesty International in 2005 have reported extensive and systematic human rights violations, including assassinations, torture, rapes and arbitrary detention in Oaxaca state; further notes that one and a half million people, of a population of under four million, have marched to ask for the removal and prosecution of Ulises Ruiz, and in support of teachers' demands; recognises that Mexico's Supreme Court (June 2007) has ordered an investigation into Ulises Ruiz's human rights abuses; and therefore urges the Government to use its influence to press for these investigations to be carried out, and for the protection of those who have brought human rights violations to public attention, in particular Jaqueline Lopez Almazán, Leyla Centeno, Alejandro Cruz López, Samuel Hernández Morales and Ulises Reynosa Guerrero.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

John McDonnell03/07/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn03/07/2007Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/07/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Chris McCafferty04/07/2007Calder ValleyLabourSeconded
Martin Caton04/07/2007GowerLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones04/07/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Karen Buck04/07/2007Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis04/07/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/07/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins05/07/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Meale05/07/2007MansfieldLabourSigned
David Drew05/07/2007StroudLabourSigned
Andrew George05/07/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Oaten09/07/2007WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark09/07/2007North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Dai Davies10/07/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Andrew Stunell10/07/2007Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian McCartney10/07/2007MakerfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/07/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Burgon11/07/2007ElmetLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/07/2007Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen11/07/2007Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/07/2007HalifaxLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/07/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer12/07/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington12/07/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Austin23/07/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/07/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eric Illsley25/07/2007Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil25/07/2007Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jennifer Willott25/07/2007Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes26/07/2007Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/10/2007Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Patrick Hall08/10/2007BedfordLabourSigned
Norman Baker08/10/2007LewesLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.