Parliament Website


EDM number 1830 in 2006-07, proposed by Harry Cohen on 03/07/2007.

That this House is appalled at the situation of Charlton Football Club's women’s team, which is the third best in England, with some women international players, but which faces relegation to a lower league as a consequence of cost cutting by the club in the wake of the relegation from the Premier League of its men's team; considers the administrative arrangements under which this can happen unreasonable; notes that the media refuses to take women's football seriously in broadcasting and reporting it; considers that resources are not being allocated properly to sustain and improve women's football; and calls on the Secretary of State to intervene immediately in the Charlton women's situation to stop this unjustified demotion, and to take steps to bring about fairer coverage of and resources for women's football.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Harry Cohen03/07/2007Leyton and WansteadLabourProposed
Andrew Pelling03/07/2007Croydon CentralConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/07/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lynne Jones04/07/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Gregory Campbell04/07/2007East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Nigel Evans04/07/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Rudi Vis04/07/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Greg Pope05/07/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins05/07/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/07/2007ChorleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson09/07/2007Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Ian Gibson09/07/2007Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/07/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies10/07/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Lyn Brown10/07/2007West HamLabourSigned
Mark Durkan10/07/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/07/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/07/2007Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/07/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alan Keen12/07/2007Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer12/07/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington12/07/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott12/07/2007Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Janet Anderson12/07/2007Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
John Leech16/07/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie24/07/2007Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell25/07/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn10/10/2007JarrowLabourSigned
Jo Swinson24/10/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.