Parliament Website

Diabetes UK Your Vision Campaign And Access To Retinal Screening

EDM number 2114 in 2006-07, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 15/10/2007.

That this House welcomes Diabetes UK's campaign Your Vision; recognises that diabetes is the leading cause of blindness in the UK working age population; considers that all people with diabetes should have access to free annual retinal screening with a digital camera and that each primary care trust should have a systematic call and recall system to ensure that people with diabetes receive an annual letter inviting them for screening; notes with concern that Government targets of all people with diabetes being offered free digital retinal screening by the end of 2007 are not being met and as a result one in four (up to 470,000) people with diabetes in England are needlessly being put at risk of losing their sight; further notes that retinal screening is one of the most cost effective interventions known in medicine, with 90 per cent. of cases of retinopathy being treatable with early intervention; and calls on the Government to ensure that primary care trusts put in place the appropriate facilities and allocate the necessary budget to their screening programme to prevent people with diabetes from needlessly losing their sight.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Adrian Sanders15/10/2007TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George15/10/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lee Scott15/10/2007Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore16/10/2007HendonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley16/10/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Philip Dunne16/10/2007LudlowConservativeSeconded
David Taylor16/10/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
John Leech16/10/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton16/10/2007MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
David Drew16/10/2007StroudLabourSigned
Annette Brooke16/10/2007Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty16/10/2007Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey16/10/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope16/10/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
David Marshall17/10/2007Glasgow EastLabourSigned
Dai Davies17/10/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Mark Hunter17/10/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams17/10/2007CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams17/10/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin17/10/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/10/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn17/10/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin17/10/2007Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/10/2007GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea17/10/2007South AntrimDUPSigned
Lynne Jones17/10/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson18/10/2007North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson18/10/2007Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/10/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley18/10/2007RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell19/10/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Keith Vaz22/10/2007Leicester EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams22/10/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Bob Russell23/10/2007ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway23/10/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans23/10/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Jim Devine23/10/2007LivingstonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis24/10/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster24/10/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Bill Etherington24/10/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean24/10/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Alan Reid24/10/2007Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh25/10/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson25/10/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael25/10/2007Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dowd25/10/2007Lewisham WestLabourSigned
John Bercow25/10/2007BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Tim Farron25/10/2007Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Walker25/10/2007BroxbourneConservativeSigned
Peter Luff29/10/2007Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Doug Naysmith29/10/2007Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Ann Cryer29/10/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Diane Abbott29/10/2007Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson29/10/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen29/10/2007RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.