Parliament Website

Election Of Demetris Christofias As President Of Cyprus

EDM number 1039 in 2007-08, proposed by Andrew Dismore on 26/02/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Elections, Europe and Western Europe.

That this House warmly congratulates Demetris Christofias, leader of AKEL, on his election in the Cyprus Presidential elections on 24th February; also welcomes the statement of the runner-up, former Cyprus Foreign Minister, Ioannis Kasoulides MEP, offering his unconditional support to the new President, particularly as far as the solution of the national problem is concerned; and, after years of a stalled process for settlement, calls upon President elect Demetris Christofias and Turkish Cypriot leader Mehmet Ali Talat to take advantage of this new appointment to implement promptly confidence building measures including supporting the opening of the Ledra Palace/Lakmaci checkpoint in central Nicosia and other checkpoints, progress on Famagusta/Varosha, demining throughout the Buffer Zone, the teaching of each other's language in state and other schools, efforts to preserve and enhance the natural environment of Cyprus, following the success of the work of the UN Missing Persons Committee, setting up the committees envisaged in the Gambari Agreement of 8th July 2006 to deal with issues identified by Cypriots, and to consider setting up a process involving individual Cypriots, civil society and social partners to allow Cypriots to come together to own the process of creating their own future in their own demilitarised, peaceful and reunited island; and sees Mr Christofias's election, given his long track record of working across the divide for a just solution in Cyprus, as the best hope for a settlement for many years.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Andrew Dismore26/02/2008HendonLabourProposed
Paul Holmes26/02/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley26/02/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock27/02/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Wareing27/02/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn27/02/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton27/02/2008GowerLabourSigned
Stewart Hosie27/02/2008Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
John Hemming27/02/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir27/02/2008AngusScottish National PartySigned
Rudi Vis27/02/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew George27/02/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis27/02/2008AberavonLabourSigned
David Clelland27/02/2008Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara27/02/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
David Lepper27/02/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Lynne Jones27/02/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan27/02/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Simon Hughes28/02/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn28/02/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/02/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Andrew Love28/02/2008EdmontonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ann Cryer03/03/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Keetch04/03/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell04/03/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Drew04/03/2008StroudLabourSigned
Clive Efford04/03/2008ElthamLabourSigned
Elliot Morley05/03/2008ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Vincent Cable05/03/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff05/03/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Mark Oaten06/03/2008WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington11/03/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster14/03/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Eric Illsley25/03/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.