Parliament Website

Specialist Products And Services For Incontinence And Stoma Patients

EDM number 1078 in 2007-08, proposed by Annette Brooke on 28/02/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House notes that 450,000 people use stoma or incontinence items to manage their health conditions; recognises that modern stoma and incontinence products enable these people to maintain their quality of life, retain their dignity, continue working and avoid repeated hospital episodes; notes that the consultation on Department of Health proposals to introduce major price cuts for these specialist products as part of a broad review of stoma and incontinence products and services has now closed; welcomes the ongoing involvement of many patients in the review process; acknowledges patients' concerns that the implementation of the proposals may lead to the withdrawal of the most specialised medical devices thus causing major disruption to vulnerable people and reducing patient choice; notes that product withdrawals would also greatly increase the demands on overworked specialist nurses who would be required to reassess patient needs and prescribe alternative products; therefore welcomes the Department of Health's commitment to consult further on the impact of their proposals and conduct full impact assessment; and calls on the Department of Health to listen to the concerns of patient organisations, industry, NHS professionals and all other stakeholders to ensure that any changes to the current payment system do not lead to withdrawal of specialist NHS prescription products or otherwise adversely impact upon patients' quality of life.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Annette Brooke28/02/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratProposed
Norman Lamb28/02/2008North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell28/02/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley28/02/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink28/02/2008Castle PointConservativeSeconded
John Grogan28/02/2008SelbyLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones03/03/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Lepper03/03/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Mike Hancock03/03/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech03/03/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sally Keeble04/03/2008Northampton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Hunter04/03/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson04/03/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George04/03/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew04/03/2008StroudLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/03/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Derek Conway04/03/2008Old Bexley and SidcupIndependentSigned
John McDonnell04/03/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson04/03/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Paul Holmes04/03/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes04/03/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis05/03/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Borrow05/03/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/03/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins05/03/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Greg Pope05/03/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Robert Key05/03/2008SalisburyConservativeSigned
John Horam06/03/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Doug Naysmith06/03/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Janet Dean06/03/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson06/03/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd10/03/2008Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Harry Cohen10/03/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Betty Williams10/03/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington11/03/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara13/03/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster14/03/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews17/03/2008MedwayLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell17/03/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby20/03/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Clive Efford20/03/2008ElthamLabourSigned
John Hemming20/03/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley25/03/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Nick Harvey27/03/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon21/04/2008North DownUUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/04/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Vincent Cable21/04/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds23/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson23/04/2008Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Iris Robinson29/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.